We've updated our Terms of Use. You can review the changes here.


by Moscow Youth Cult

  • Streaming + Download

    Includes unlimited streaming via the free Bandcamp app, plus high-quality download in MP3, FLAC and more.
    Purchasable with gift card

      £5 GBP  or more


Beton Brut 01:14
Lux 03:43
build v1.0 01:20
Crawl 04:24
Less Hiker I 02:32
Low Vision 05:32
build v2.0 00:56
Frustum 00:52
build v3.0 00:48
Hospice 04:51


London-based electronic music duo Moscow Youth Cult released their second album, Brutalist, through Hello Thor Records and I OWN YOU Records on Friday 28 September 2018.

The fifteen tracks of Brutalist showcase Moscow Youth Cult’s woozy, kaleidoscopic electronica – one minute lush, warm and shimmering; the next claustrophobic, stark and austere.

"Moscow Youth Cult piece together a spiralling tapestry of electronica juxtaposing woozy, lush, shimmering sonics, with stark and austere motorik beats and threads it with unexpected samples. Like the architectural style with which the album shares its name, Brutalist is bold, expressionist, textural." God Is In The TV

Moscow Youth Cult is Jon Dix and Dan O'Donnell-Smith, who formed the band when they collaborated on an electronic sound installation for GameCity – Europe’s biggest video games cultural festival – to celebrate the 25th anniversary of the analogue video game Elite.

Brutalist finds Jon and Dan negotiating their way through a difficult landscape of uncertain futures, both personal and political. Dreamy soundscapes and off-kilter euphoria - with beats and sounds crafted from sources as diverse as insect samples and pornos - soundtrack lyrical explorations of profound unease, of change and of loss.

Moscow Youth Cult songs have appeared on the cult US comedy series Portlandia and the hit video game Saints Row IV. In 2016, three of the band’s songs were featured in Ben Williams’ BAFTA-nominated feature film The Pass.

Moscow Youth Cult’s association with Nottingham-based DIY record labels Hello Thor Records and I OWN YOU Records goes back many years and takes in Halloween parties, VHS video nasties, gigs in fake TV studios, Italian zombie films and a silent disco in a library. We couldn’t be happier to finally be collaborating together to bring the world Brutalist.

All of the songs on Brutalist are written, performed and produced by Moscow Youth Cult. Dream Console is mixed by John Sampson (CJ Mirra, Swimming). Aaron Doyle (Cantaloupe, Flourishes) played drums on Makes Never Myth, Beyond the Black Veil and Hospice.

For fans of: NZCA/Lines, Boards of Canada, Fischerspooner, Fuck Buttons, Toro Y Moi, Chvrches, Le Corbusier.


released September 28, 2018


all rights reserved



Hello Thor Nottingham, UK

contact / help

Contact Hello Thor

Streaming and
Download help

Redeem code

Report this album or account

If you like Brutalist, you may also like: