We've updated our Terms of Use. You can review the changes here.



  • Streaming + Download

    Includes unlimited streaming via the free Bandcamp app, plus high-quality download in MP3, FLAC and more.
    Purchasable with gift card

      £5 GBP  or more


  • Record/Vinyl + Digital Album

    Limited edition (300 only) 140g black vinyl.

    Includes unlimited streaming of ULTRAS via the free Bandcamp app, plus high-quality download in MP3, FLAC and more.
    ships out within 2 days
    edition of 300 

      £14 GBP or more 


Intro 01:30
Napoleon 03:29
Stepping Out 04:04
Murder 01:26
Team Handed 04:33
Britannica 04:04
Royal Names 04:35
Holy Cross 03:40
See Blood 03:27


ULTRAS is a moniker for the music of multi-instrumentalist Gav Prentice recording with a variety of Scottish producers.

ULTRAS is the debut album by ULTRAS, released on limited edition (300 only) vinyl and digital download through Hello Thor Records and Instinctive Racoon on 28 April 2017.

ULTRAS is refreshing, powerful and infused in everything from hip-hop production to pop, rock, electronica and the Scottish folk tradition, creating music that is largely about violence.

Formerly one half of cult euphoric pop duo Over the Wall, Gav Prentice has been taking his time with ULTRAS. "This Is Where I Fall" – a blistering, bloody-nosed battle cry of a song, all heart-on-sleeve fury, distorted guitar and chunky beats - first appeared at the end of 2014 and since then Prentice has been sharpening his tools, creating what he describes as "violent pop for the patronised".

The album ULTRAS was recorded by six producers over several months, an approach inspired by Gav’s love of hip-hop mixtapes.

Lead single "Team Handed" reunites Gav with former Over The Wall partner Ben Hillman, who takes production duties as well as providing a beautiful piano part, creating a warm, emotional, mournful lament.

Glaswegian odd-pop maestro Jonnie Common takes the production reins on "Stepping Out". He and Prentice explored their shared love of hip-hop to chop samples and basslines together, building up to an explosion of pulsing synths and jubilant guitar.

Second single "You’ve A Foul Mouth John Barleycorn" is produced by Miaoux Miaoux man Julian Corrie, who provided the layers of analogue synths and beats that drive the song – like a high energy, hyper-colour, dance-pop update of a folk standard.

Joe Cormack (renowned for his work with The Pictish Trail) added the layers of guitars to "Holy Cross", as well as providing the big rock sounds and tight rhythms on "This Is Where I Fall" and "The Path To Getting Paid", creating a cacophony of rich soundscapes.

Finally, Paul “Gal” Gallagher captured the live ULTRAS band on the ferocious single "Napoleon" (originally released in 2016 through Killing Moon Records) and brought the same feeling of live energy to "Britannica" and "See Blood", as well as overseeing the mixing of the album as one complete unit.

And from beginning to end comes Prentice’s warm, emotional vocal - wrestling with often ugly feelings, tortured by violence – and his raw, honest and immediate songwriting. It’s sometimes challenging, it’s always thrilling.

Prentice’s ULTRAS live band is completed by Roy Mohan Shearer (drums, keyboard) and Matthew Clark (guitar, bass), augmenting the traditional power trio line-up with live electronics.

Tracks 1, 3, 6, 8, 12 produced by Paul Gallagher.

Tracks 2, 10, 11 produced by Joe Cormack.

Track 4 produced by Julian Corrie.

Track 5 produced by Jonnie Common.

Track 7 produced by Ben Hillman.

Track 9 produced by Gav Prentice.

Mixed in Glasgow by Paul Gallagher and Joe Cormack.

Mastered by Paul Gold at Salt Mastering, New York.


released April 28, 2017


all rights reserved



Hello Thor Nottingham, UK

contact / help

Contact Hello Thor

Streaming and
Download help

Redeem code

Report this album or account

If you like ULTRAS, you may also like: